the frullet.

Mark your calendars.

I’m getting a hair cut next week.

This is a big deal. It’s been at least a year since I’ve gotten my hair cut. And this will probably be only the 3rd hair cut I’ve had in the last 4 or so years.

I don’t get out much.

As you may remember, I have a traumatized hair past. I’ve been the subject of cruel and unusual haircuts at the hands of my mother for many years. Maybe that’s why I don’t go to the stylist that much. I’m nervous. I’m afraid. Afraid to fall victim to the mullet again. Or the paper straight bangs.

Or this:

This, my friends, is what I like to call the ‘frullet’. What looks like an innocent perm gone wrong is actually a permed mullet.

And it gets better. The back part is not permed. In this photo, the long, straight part is actually pinned up, to give the illusion that there is no mullet. But trust me, it is there. An ‘afro’ and a  mullet make for a winning combination if you ask me.

Maybe that’s what I’ll ask for next week at the hair cutting place.

Have a blessed weekend friends 🙂

P.S. If you’re wondering if I’ve always been that stylish, the answer is yes ; )

9 thoughts on “the frullet.

  1. baahahahahahahaha how funny! atleast the perm isnt natural, forever, hott mess lookin hair. sadly, i could make my hair look that way in about 3 minutes.

    Like

  2. That's what my hair looked like when I was little…. except it wasn't a perm. My dad called me “wild thing” every morning. Happy Hair Cutting!

    Like

  3. I once had a similar style. I was trying to let mine grown out from a 'bowl hair cut' (Yes I had short hair forever) and was told that perming it would make it grow faster. The only thing it accomplished was making me look pitiful. Mom has a picture of how it looked when I woke up one morning. And yes, I too have the haircutphobia. I'm weird and particular about it now.

    Like

  4. Oh gracious. . .the frullet. I never knew there was a name for what I was afflicted with as a child but you have effectively labeled it. Oh the tragic memories of the frullets! And where would we be if our parents hadn't taken such great care to preserve the photographic proof of our tortured childhoods?

    Like

Leave a Reply

