thankful thursday: a couple of things.

1. PB is feeling better! After being sick for over a week, he’s finally getting back to his old self. This was probably the sickest I’ve seen him. He ran a fever for 6 straight days and a few times it got a little to high for comfort. After two visits to the doctor, she confirmed that it was probably just a wicked virus. Saturday, he seemed to be on the mend, and then on Sunday, it hit again. After doctor visit # 3 on Monday, we found that as soon as he had gotten over the virus, he got his first ear infection. Fun times were had by all. But I’m happy to report that he’s running wild again. He’s even playing with that boy who lives in the mirror again.

2. As I’m entering month #4 of no paycheck, I’m thankful for God’s provisions. It is scary to quit your job. It’s even scarier to quit with no promise of a job at the end of the tunnel. Right now, I’m working 40 + hours a week and not getting paid for it. It’s kinda not cool. But, God has provided for us, and I know that He’ll continue to take care of us. Sometimes, particularly like today when I paid the daycare bill for the month of January, I freak out. And I start panicking wondering how we’ll make it and if I’ll ever find a teaching job in this strapped economy. But then I remember that God has led me to this, and I know He’ll lead me through it. He provides for me, what I like to call, airplane peace.

I know this probably sounds crazy, but many times in the past six years, I’ve prayed for God’s airplane peace. I’ve even slipped up and said it in a public prayer before. Yeah, I got a lot of looks after that. Anyway, airplane peace is what I like to describe that feeling of amazing peace and comfort that can only come from the Lord.

I’ve flown 3 times in my life. And if I have anything to do with it, I’ll never do it again. I’ll have to tell you more about my flying experiences later. But I’ll leave it at this. I’m terrified of flying. In my sane mind, I would never ever ever ever never never voluntarily board an airplane. I can’t believe Ben talked me in to go to Hawaii on our honeymoon. In my right mind, I would have never did that, but when I got on that plane, all of my anxiety disappeared and this incredible peace and comfort filled my body. I had been praying about flying for a long time. I had prayed for peace and comfort so that I wouldn’t get 32,000 feet above the earth and have a massive panic attack and try to jump out of the plane. I’m happy to report that didn’t happen, but what did happen was God showed me what it feels like when He is in complete control. He wipes the worry from our hearts and comforts and holds us like only He can.

and finally,

3. Sleep! After a little over a week of ZERO sleep with a sick baby, my first night of straight sleep felt unbelievable. I contemplated peeing in the bed so I wouldn’t have to get up and disrupt such a glorious thing. As I like to say, I slept like a unicorn on a cloud πŸ™‚

What about y’all? Does anyone else have an irrational fear of flying? Have you ever been so sleep deprived that you’ve thought of peeing in the bed so you wouldn’t disrupt your precious sleep? No? Just me? Okay.

Have a blessed Thursday πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “thankful thursday: a couple of things.

  1. Okay first of all, so happy PB is healthy again! I can't imagine what it's like to have a sick baby… Secondly, yes almost every morning I contemplate peeing in bed so I don't have to get up. Lastly, praying for you and your job stuff and just encouraging you to keep trusting the Lord! He knows what He's doing… πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Yay! Glad PB is healthy again. Sick babies are heart-breaking. And, I feel you on the student teaching. That was one of the hardest years of my life. You're really working 60-70 hours a week (with everything you put in at home and after work), and no money to be seen. I had to live with my parents (which I liked, so it was fine!), and you're scared you'll never get a job. But, like you, I prayed and prayed. The county I lived in only hired two people that year, and I was one of them πŸ™‚ I know that since you are a praying woman, the same will go for you!

    Also, airplanes stink.

    Like

  3. I was terrified of flying the first time I flew and I'll probably be super terrified when we fly to Europe in a little over a year, but it's worth it to me because I love to travel. And I totally feel you on being too comfortable to get out of bed to pee. I've never done it before, but I've definitely thought about it!

    Like

  4. Every night (and day when I work the night shift the previous night!) I wish I didn't have to get up and pee..darn pregnant bladder! Glad your lil' man is feeling better, our girls are finally on the mend too! It's been a rough couple months!

    Like

  5. First, yay for PB feeling better! And second, I feel ya on the working with no check! I mean student teachers have RIDICULOUS lesson plans to write. I mean huge multiple page lesson plans when teachers never have to write that much? It takes up so much time. But just know that you are on the right path. And because you know that you are on the right path you will be rewarded with a job. Believe me I know how uncomforting that can be to hear because I heard it and heard it and when I finally believed it…I didn't get a job. But now I start an interem teaching position in a little over a month so I am going to get to ease into it! A blessing in disguise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

